You are here

Submitted Content
11:44 am PDT April 6, 2021
  • THE BRONX, NY — Katherine Aronson of Malibu was recently initiated into The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi, the nation's oldest and most selective all-discipline collegiate honor society. Aronson was initiated at Fordham University. Aronson is among approximately 30,000 students, faculty, professional staff and alumni to be initiated into Phi Kappa Phi each year. Membership is by invitation only and requires nomination and approval by a chapter. Only the top 10 percent of seniors and 7.5 percent of juniors are eligible for membership. Graduate students in the top 10 percent of the number of candidates for graduate degrees may also qualify, as do faculty, professional staff and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction. Phi Kappa Phi was founded in 1897 under the leadership of undergraduate student Marcus L. Urann who had a desire to create a different kind of honor society: one that recognized excellence in all academic disciplines. Today, the Society has chapters on more than 325 campuses in the United States and the Philippines. Its mission is "To recognize and promote academic excellence in all fields of higher education and to engage the community of scholars in service to others."

  • ABILENE, TX — Keaton Brewster of Malibu was named to the Abilene Christian University Fall 2020 Dean's List. Brewster is a senior majoring in physics. Brewster was among more than 1,300 students named to the Fall 2020 Dean's List. To qualify, students must be registered for 12 or more credit hours and earn a GPA of 3.6 or higher.

  • BOSTON, Mass. — Charlotte Drummond, a native of Malibu, has been named to Emerson College's Dean's List for the Fall 2020 semester. Drummond is majoring in writing, lit and pub: Publishing and is a member of the Class of 2023. The requirement to make Emerson's Dean's List is a grade point average of 3.7 or higher.

  • HAMILTON, NY — Chase Hirt and Charlotte Louks of Malibu have earned Colgate University's 2020 Dean's Award for Academic Excellence. Students who receive a term grade point average of 3.6 or higher while completing at least three courses for a conventional letter grade during the fall 2020 semester earn the Dean's Award with Distinction.